About

at peak Malyovitsa

This is the fifth time I edit this page and it is always hard to write it in such way it would not require editing for long period of time because things change so fast.

My name is Georgi Mirchev, born on 09 November 1990 (you can calculate how old I am). I live in a country called Bulgaria and which I love a lot. You can find it in the south-eastern part of Europe and we are also part of the European Union. Currently, I work in our capital called Sofia, but I go to my home city very often to walk my two beagles.

I love programming and I am especially interested in code architecture and design patterns. Most of the time I write native Android code (mostly Kotlin) but I also use Javascript a lot. I have a lot of experience with Android apps – I have been programming for Android since version 2.2 was released. I really enjoy writing smart and useful apps. This includes the apps in my Google Play profile and in GitHub. I have worked on many projects for different companies (a link to my LinkedIn profile). I have .NET experience more than 2 years and a half, some basic Python experience with Django and Flask, Javascript experience for more than 2 years with the rise of NodeJS. 

I had a StartUp with my university colleagues where we made apps like RetroSelfie and AppHunt which are a real example how building apps for Android can let you support yourself without having to work for anyone. I read/listen to books a lot and mostly on topics like “clean code” or “personal improvement”, you can check my Goodreads account if you want to have a chat about books.

This blog was started with the purpose of sharing knowledge. I started it back in 2012 when I was getting involved in programming and I thought that I should share the problems I meet and how I solve them with the world around me. I love sharing knowledge, you can see in LinkedIn that a spent some time being a lecturer either at one of my companies or at a free course on Android development. So if you share this passion, let’s have a chat about it!

At the moment there is a lot of stuff that I do. I do programming for fun & for a living. I spend my time working for different companies and I try to achieve my ideas in the meantime. As each programmer knows, there is not enough time for everything so I still try to work both on my personal ideas and for other companies. Mixing stuff is hard, but there are no easy things in life. If you want to have a chat with me, you can use the Social Contacts at the top of this page or just ping me an email:

gmirchev90@gmail.com

I also have another blog where I share my thoughts & trips, but this is a whole other topic. I hope you will enjoy what you find in this blog and it will inspire you to do more interesting things!